Updated: 18/05/12 : 07:45:35
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Winners

The Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League season came to a close last Tuesday night with the final of the Emmet O’Connor Memorial Cup as Abbott Ireland took on Durkin’s Pub. For both of these teams reaching the final was an achievement in itself as Abbott had finished bottom of Division One while Durkin’s had finished bottom of McCullagh Carpentry Division Two.

In the end it was Abbott who lifted the cup as they won 3-0 thanks to goals from Darren Adams, Colm Kelly and Finbarr Smith.

Abbott started the better and did most of the early probing as they forced a number of early corners. It was from one of these that they took the lead.

They won a corner on the right which was taken by Adams. He swung it in left footed and a mix-up in the Durkin’s defence meant that the ball bounced in at the near post. Soon after Alan Seery was played in by Conor Scanlon but he was denied twice by Durkin’s keeper Keith O’Dwyer.

The best chance for Durkin’s came with five minutes left in the half as Paul Clarke found Craig Paxton free in the box but his shot was saved by the legs of Abbott keeper Steven McNulty.

The second half was played out in the same vein as the first with Abbott on the offensive throughout. They got their second goal eight minutes into the half. A good move on the right hand side saw Conor Walker play in the ball to Kelly and his shot on the turn from outside the box took a slight deflection off a defender which looped it up over O’Dwyer and into the net.

Durkin’s went close to pulling a goal back when Kenneth Appleby sent over a corner from the right which was met by a header from Nigel Durkin that was taken off the line by Clive Morris. Abbott made sure of the win when they got their third.

Adams drilling in low a corner from the left which was shot home by Smith. After the game Emmet’s dad Martin presented the trophy to the victorious Abbott captain Finbarr Smith.

Abbott Ireland: Steven McNulty, Pat Michonski, Clive Morris, Justin Scanlon, Conor Walker, Alan Seery, Darren Adams, Finbarr Smith, Colm Kelly, Conor Scanlon, Jason McLoughlin.

Durkin’s Pub: Keith O’Dwyer, Kenneth Appleby, Eamon Bruen, Ciaran Gaffney, Craig Paxton, Daniel Chester, Stuart Milne, Stephen McHugh, Paul Clarke, Philip Leydon, Liam Maloney, Nigel Durkin, Trevor Holton, Adam O’Toole, Declan Benson, Micheal O’Brion.

Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Results
Emmet O’Connor Memorial Cup Final
Tuesday 15th May
Durkin’s Pub 0 – 3 Abbott Ireland


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Roll of Honour

Division One

Winners – Fiddler’s Creek
Runners-Up – Riverstown

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Winners – Killanaskully Wanderers
Runners-Up – Hargadon’s (Calry)

Socrates Healthcare Informatics Cup

Winners – Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited
Runners-Up – Riverstown

Emmet O’Connor Memorial Cup

Winners – Abbott Ireland
Runners-Up – Durkin’s Pub

Division One Top Scorer

Glen Shannon (Fiddler’s Creek)

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Daniel McDonagh (Killanaskully Wanderers)

Player of the Year Nominations

Division One:

Johnny Kenny (Riverstown)

Philip Stallard (Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited)
Packie Callaghan (Fiddler's Creek)
Noel McKenna (Riverstown)
Barry McLoughlin (Fiddler's Creek)

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two:

Stephen O'Hara (Hargadon's)
Daniel McDonagh (Killanaskully Wanderers)
Gary Canny (Hargadon's)
Trevor McGuinn (Coolaney Celts)
Brendan Lowry (Hargadon's)
John Joe O’Reilly (IT Sligo)