Updated: 21/05/18 : 14:46:29
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Rosses Point beach receives double award

Today, An Taisce announced the International Blue Flag and Green Coast Award recipients for 2018. See below.

The awards were presented by Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government Eoghan Murphy TD at an awards ceremony held at The Martello Hotel overlooking The Promenade in Bray, County Wicklow this afternoon.

A record number of blue flags have been awarded to beaches across the country.

90 of the flags - which indicate excellent water quality and safety - have been given out for 2018 by An Taisce.

83 of the flags were awarded to beaches while seven went to marinas.

Sligo's Rosses Point was one of five beaches nationally to be awarded with both the Blue Flag and a Green Coast Award.

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy, presented the Blue Flag Awards at a ceremony in Bray this morning.

"Today’s high number of awards reflects the great efforts made by local authorities, An Taisce, local coastal communities and other volunteers on the ground," said the Minister.

"It also reflects well on the work being done more widely within catchments to improve water quality."

The Blue Flag is one of the world’s most recognised eco-labels. The Blue Flag originated in France in 1985 when French coastal Local Authorities were awarded with the Blue Flag for compliance with sewage treatment and bathing water quality criteria.

Breakdown of Blue Flags awarded:

Kerry - 14
Derrynane, Ballinskelligs, White Strand, Kells, Rossbeigh, Inch, Ventry, Magherabeg, Fenit, Banna, Bellyheigue, Ballybunion South, Ballybunion North, Fenit Marina

Donegal - 13
Bundoran, Rossnowlagh, Murvagh, Fintra, Naran/Portnoo, Carrickfinn, Killahoey, Marblehill, Downings, Magherwarden Portsalon, Culdaff, Stroove, Greencastle Marina

Mayo - 12
Carrowmore, Bertra, The Harbour, Mulranny, Dooega, Keel, Keem, Dugort, Golden Strand, Mullaghroe, Elly Bay, Ross

Clare - 9
Cappa Poer, Kilkee, Whitestrand, Spanish Point, Miltown Malbay, Lahinch, Fanore, Ballycuggeran, Mountshannon

Cork - 9
Redbarn, Garrylucas, Garrelstown, Inchydoney, Owenahincha, Tragumna, Barleycove, Royal Cork Yacht Club, Kinsale Yacht Club

Wexford (9):
Ballymoney North, Courtown, Morriscastle, Ballinesker, Curracloe, Rosslare, Carne, Kilmore Quay Marina, New Ross ‘Three Sisters’ Marina

Galway (8):
Bathing Place, Loughrea Lake, Traught, Salthill, Silver Strand, Trá Mhór, Trá an Dóilin, Cill Mhuirbhigh

Waterford (5):
Counsellors’ Strand, Dunmore East, Tramore, Clonea, Ardmore

Wicklow (4):
Bray South Promenade, Greystones South Beach, Brittas Bay North, Brittas Bay South

Louth (3):
Templetown, Port, Clogherhead

Dublin (2):
Portmarnock, Seapoint

Sligo (1):
Rosses Point